reviewhost.blogg.se

Recommend ram for os x vm
Recommend ram for os x vm






  1. RECOMMEND RAM FOR OS X VM HOW TO
  2. RECOMMEND RAM FOR OS X VM FULL
  3. RECOMMEND RAM FOR OS X VM FREE

This drives me nuts about small companies sometimes, they will put up with paying or risking tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars in risk instead of investing maybe $10K up front for something reasonably setup. Thousands of dollars per outage, shit the next one will put the entire business under. Who in the hell setup a mission critical server for a 30+ user org on one drive with no backups. I guess I would make the server into a file server, and then get another one with similar specs to backup everything from this server (As well as serve as a replacement in case of disaster happens). And disasters have occured in the past which cost this company thousands of dollar. At the moment we dont have any backup plan. The funny thing is this server runs on only 1 hard drive. All data is stored in individual local machines, and the sever itself contains most of the valuable data for the accounting program. 1 server which runs 2 VM for the accounting program. We have about 30 desktops and 10 laptops which are mostly used for accounting and writing reports. So let's me explain the needs of my office. Based on the comments here I will rethink my backup strategy. Yes I've just graduated from college for 1 month and this is completely new for me. Your comment gave me a new look at this project.

RECOMMEND RAM FOR OS X VM FULL

Pick something, and pay them their money for the full product.Īt the end of the day you are probably talking about closer to $5,000 total spend rather than the ~$2,000 you initially proposed. The Nov2015 test report there suggests which scan engines are better than others.

RECOMMEND RAM FOR OS X VM FREE

There are very nearly no Free AV solutions for Windows Server. Related requirement: Be sure and buy a Windows Server compatible Anti-Virus product. The tricky part - that I cannot help you with - it figuring out how many Client Access Licenses (CALs) you need, and determining if you already bought some with your desktop systems.Įach client device (PC/laptop/tablet) OR each user MUST have a purchased CAL to access services on the server, else you are in violation of Microsoft's licensing agreement. If you need it now, Windows Server 2012R2 does not suck, and does work just fine - its just 4 years closer to End of Support than Windows 2016 will be. So you might consider holding off long enough for that. Windows Server 2016 is about to ship I think in 1Q 2016. There are a dizzying array of options here - and I may behind the times in keeping up with all the rules. One of the reasons I suggested the slightly larger CPU (and a XeonE3 is by no means a large CPU) is to help with multi-threading of backup activities, like file de-duplication and AV-scanning. I don't care what solution you choose, but choose one and buy it with the server.

recommend ram for os x vm

RECOMMEND RAM FOR OS X VM HOW TO

Now you need to figure out how to back the data up. You sound to small a shop to require 24x7 hardware repair, so save a couple hundred bucks and stick with business-hours assistance:ĥ Year Onsite Repair 9x5 4 Hour Response (00LV615) ServeRAID M5225-2GB SAS/SATA Controller (00AE938) SATA disks are already not terribly fast, so I think upgrading to the larger RAID controller is wise:

recommend ram for os x vm

That means it will work, but will be frustratingly slow. The default C100 RAID controller does not appear to have any on-board cache memory. It could also be me over-thinking this, because I haven't worked with less than 100 users in like a decade. 2 x 2TB for OS and 2 x 6TB for data each in a RAID-1 would be viable, but I'm a bit concerned about 2 x SATA spindles taking on the I/O load for 30 users. I hate installing the OS on the same drives as data, but there aren't enough drive bays to separate things very well. Stuff 4 x 4TB SATA drives in there in RAID-10. This gets you a proper 4 Core Xeon E3 CPU and 2 x 8GB memory modules. I'd start with the slightly larger SKU, the 5457EKU. It seems you have a brand preference for IBM hardware - which is fine, except IBM recently sold their entire x86 server business to Lenovo.

recommend ram for os x vm

30 users X 30GB of storage per user = 900GB of storage, minimum.Can you engage a VAR (Value Added Reseller) to help you with this? You seem awfully green to be taking on this project. I share similar concerns with /u/crankysysadmin.








Recommend ram for os x vm